Local designers Dzojchen, Carrie K., State Property and more celebrated at Singapore Fashion Awards

Local designers Dzojchen, Carrie K., State Property and more celebrated at Singapore Fashion Awards

A night to remember

Text: Andrea Sim

An evening celebrating the best of Singapore creatives honours novice and veteran names in the fashion industry

The recent Friday evening saw the fashion pack gathering south of our island at Sentosa Cove's W Singapore. Amidst the crowd were designers, fashion editors, stylists, hair and makeup artists, actors and personalities — all coming together for the Singapore Fashion Awards 2017 (SFA) by our local Textile and Fashion Federation (TAFF) in recognition of the industry's best talent.

Established names Dzojchen, Aijek, and Gnome & Bow to name a few, were up for the Designer of the Year Award that takes into account both clothing and accessory labels, while the Emerging Designers Award spotlighted up-and-comers Beyond The Vines, State Property and AMETSUBI.

Casting its net even wider, other titles such as the Bespoke Award (a first in SFA history), Best Marketing, Best Collaboration and Top 3 Most Popular Brands (the latter decided via public voting) seeked to reward those that excelled in specifc fields; recognising the growth and evolution of our local fashion landscape, as well as the spectrum of mastery our homegrown talent have displayed in the year that's passed. 

Officiated by Ms Sim Ann — Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth & Ministry of Trade and Industry — see the full list of nominees and award winners below. 

Designer of the Year Award (Fashion)
Winner: Dzojchen; Chelsea Scott-Blackhall 
Nominees: Aijek; Danelle Woo and Nuboaix; Jessica Lee and Yong Siyuan 

Designer of the Year Award (Accessories)
Winner: Marilyn Tan Jewellery; Marilyn Tan
Nominees: Gnome & Bow; Quanda Ong and Mandy Wu; Mandy Wu 

Emerging Designers Award (Fashion)
Winner: AMETSUBI; Elizabeth Soon and Keita Ebihara
Nominees: Beyond The Vines; Rebecca Ting and Daniel Chew, and Amos Ananda; Amos Ananda 

Emerging Designers Award (Accessories)
Winner: State Property; Afzal Imram and Lin Ruiyin
Nominees: Mashizan; Mashizan Masjum and Tribute by 79 Tribal Nation; Gary Chng, Joel Ong, Clement Foo and Benny Tan 

Bespoke Award
Winner: Carrie K.
Nominees: Choo Yilin and Argentum

Honorary Award
Tan Yoong

Champion for Creatives and Designers Award
Carrie K.; Keepers 

Best Marketing Award
Winner: Benjamin Barker  
Nominees: Matter Prints and KBLU 

Best Collaboration of the Year Award
Winner: Carrie K.; Disney Beauty and the Beast collection
Nominees: Sabrina Goh; Disney Star Wars collection and Ling Wu; Onlewo collaboration 

The Top 3 Most Popular Brands of the Year Award
Winners: Love, Bonito, Beyond The Vines and By Invite Only
Nominees: Benjamin Barker, Collate the Label, KLARRA, The Mindful Company and Matter Prints 

Make-up Artist of the Year Award
Winner: Elain Lim
Nominees: Rick Yang, Clarence Lee and Peter Khor

Hair Stylist of the Year Award 
Winner: Marc Teng
Nominees: Sean Ang, Edward Chong and Manisa Tan 

Photographer of the Year Award
Winner: Stefan Khoo
Nominees: Joel Low, Chuck Reyes and Micky Wong 

Fashion Stylist of the Year Award
Winner: Jeremy Tan
Nominees: Chia Wei Choong, Daryl Alexius Yeo and Randolph Tan 

Related articles

Buro 24/7 Selection